• INK is primarily an online magazine written and produced entirely by pupils at Berkhamsted School.
  • The magazine aims to provide a range of content, from politics and economics, to culture and creative, from a wide range of pupils.
  • Contributions – articles, creative writing, illustrations, photographs and videos – are entirely the creation of pupils ranging from Year 9 – Year 13.
  • There are usually three online issues of INK produced in an academic year.
  • There is one themed print edition released each year as well.
  • The INK editorial team is predominantly made up of students in years eleven to thirteen. The editorial team meet together for a 40 minute meeting per week to discuss content, contributions, issues and launches.
  • The editorial team organise and edit the submissions, which students can be email to the addresses below. If you are any doubt as to what section your article would fit in, please send it to James or Edmund, who will then send it to the relevant section editor.



James Doyle - Editor-in-chief ([email protected])

Edmund Wilson - Deputy editor-in-chief and Politics Editor ([email protected])

David Shipton - Creative Editor ([email protected])

Lizzie Debonnaire - Culture Editor ([email protected])

Jed Thirkettle - Economics Editor ([email protected])

Joe Beadle - Global Editor ([email protected])

Science Editor - Harriet Gould ([email protected]hool.net)

Sam Quinn - Sport Editor ([email protected])

James Routledge - Website Manager and Print Edition Designer 

Eloise Groves - Lead Artist

Assistant Editors

Beth Evans (Global), Emma Hansen (Politics), Megan Hansen (Economics), Leili Farsian (Culture), Tom Harbottle (Creative), Grace Castle (Sport), Jamie Brener (Science)




  • The magazine was founded in the summer term of 2012 by Miss McColl. After the appointment of the first editorial team, a Facebook page was created and, over the summer holiday, members of the school community engaged in a lengthy online debate about what the magazine would be called. The name INK was derived from The Ink Spot, an online creative writing website already in existence for Key Stage Three students in the school. The first edition of INK was published as an interactive PDF and, by March 2013, Issue 2 had been launched, with a new logo and a new website, with Twitter feeds, Facebook links and a dedicated YouTube channel.
  • The new INK website made the magazine more accessible and easier to navigate than before, as well as opening up the magazine to a wider range of content such as the Teacher Interview videos. We also offered a means for students to promote their own blogs and websites.
  • In November 2013 we produced a series of 'Room 101' videos where we asked teachers about their pet hates.
  • The ‘Best Of’ Print Editions of INK – the PDFs of which are uploaded to the website – have been read more than 10,000 times online alone.

Issue History

  • 2011-2012 – Issue 1,2
  • 2012-2013 – Issue 3, 4
  • 2013-2014 – Issues 5, 6, 7 – First team to produce 3 issues in an academic year
  • 2015-2016 – Issues 8, 9, 10

  • Website created in 2013 by Luke O’Sullivan
  • Website redesigned in 2014/2015 by Luke O’Sullivan
  • Website redesigned in 2015/2016 by Freddie Sallis and Robert Nash


Shine School Media Awards

We have entered the Shine School Media Awards for the last 3 years and been awarded with great acclaim:

2013 – Entered as a print magazine: Winners of ‘Best Design and Layout’, ‘Best Overall Editorial Content’ and ‘Best Feature Article’ (Ed Cousins) and Highly Commended for ‘Best Original Artwork and Photography.’

2014 – Entered as an online magazine: Highly Commended for ‘Best Online’ and ‘Most Outstanding Pupil’ for Luke O’Sullivan

2015 – Entered as both an online magazine and submitted our ‘Best Of’ Print Edition –

Winners of ‘Best Online’; Luke O’Sullivan was awarded ‘Young Production Editor with exceptional promise’; Highly Commended for ‘Best Design and Layout’; Highly Commended for ‘Most Outstanding Pupil’; Highly Commended for ‘Best Magazine’

2016 – Luke O’Sullivan, who has left the school and is now studying ‘Film Production’ at The Met Film School, was invited to join the Shine School Media Awards judging panel


Christina Storey, Sarah Witty and Luke O’Sullivan collecting their trophy for winning ‘Best Online’


Luke O’Sullivan collecting his scroll for winning ‘Young Production Editor with exceptional promise’.


The team and Miss Ireland – who oversees the magazine – with all their 2015 accolades.




Editor-in-chief - Chanté Bohitige

Deputy Editor - Sebastian Fage

Creative Editor - Lucy Roberts

Culture Editor - James Doyle

Economics Editor - Oliver Hansen

Global Editor - Gigi St John

Politics Editor - Edmund Wilson

Science Editor - Phoebe Jarvis

Sport Editor - Olivia Tomlinson

Website Manager / Print Edition Designer - James Routledge

Illustration / Cartoon Editor - Alex Nutman




Sally Nolan - Editor in Chief

Chloe Vialou-Clark - Deputy Editor

Freddie Sallis - Head of Media

Harriet Fisk - Global

Joe Davern - Politics

Ben van Vlymen - Economics

Chante Bohitige - Culture

Patrick Kennedy-Hunt - Science

Rob Barrow - Sport

Lizzie Wood - Creative



Christina Storey - Editor in Chief

Sarah Witty - Deputy Editor

Luke O'Sullivan - Technical Manager

Ellie Downs - Features

Tom Gould - Politics

Ben Shelley - Economics

Charlie Masters - Culture

Emma Lewis - Science

Matt Pugh - Sport

Ellie Skelton - Creative



Holly Brandon - Editor in Chief

Jacob Savill - Deputy Editor

Luke O'Sullivan - Technical Manager

Hope Bicknell - Features

Chris Ptaszynski- Neophytou -  Politics

Ellie Daghlian - Culture

Zoe Thursz - Science

Max Lindon - Sport

Holly Sutherland - Creative



Naomi Pyburn - Editor

Heni Cloake - Deputy Editor

Daniel Steele - Technical Manager

Luke O'Sullivan - Website Manager

Charlotte Paradise - Culture

Jemma Magrath - Features

Rosie Toms - Politics

Elliot Howe - Science

Christian Beer – Sport

Jo Fowler – Graphics

Megan Shaw – Artwork and Photography

James Routledge 2016